Lasik: A Spiritually “Eye-opening” Experience

After much contemplation I have managed to muster up the courage to finally go for the lasik optical correction procedure. I have been purblind for half of my life. My habit of reading by the door of my dorm with the help of the corridor lights after our 12.00 a.m. curfew had caused my vision to deteriorate. One day during a prep class at night with my favourite ustaz Habib Muhsin (Al-fatihah), he noticed that I was squinting reading the blackboard. Realising my difficulties of deciphering his writings though I was sitting at the front row, he sincerely asked me to put on his thick dark brown framed glasses. The whole class had bursted into laughter but being concerned, he insisted that I tried reading with his glasses on. With a coyish smile I donned them on feeling ticklish and yet touched by his fatherly demeanor. Unfortunately, the power of the spectacles was too high for my eyesight plus it was to cater for short-sighted conditions as well. 17 years has passed and here I was coping with a visual acuity of 500/600! 

The procedure

On the first visit, the optical personnel would require patients to go through a string of tests to identify the most suitable type of lasik based on their case. These tests are meant to check the condition of the eyes in terms of its shape, thickness of cornea, moisture level and so forth. In normal cases, patients are able to choose either to go for the Lasik or All-Laser treatment. Just for your info, this preliminary session would cost not more than RM200. They would also request the patient to put a deposit of RM500 to book an appointment for the treatment. The patient can confirm with the clinic on the preferred type of treatment on the day before.

As for the treatment itself, it would take about 20-30 minutes for the whole procedure. This involves the scanning of the eye, numbing of the eyes so that it can withstand the intricate procedure and other steps. However, the eye-laser moment takes only about 22 seconds. It would seem like forever during the process but I kept on reciting zikr and imagined the beautiful places I’ve been to in this world. Alhamdulillah, I felt calm and determined with His Mercy.

Spiritual Enlightenment

The moment I was able to see clearly for a few seconds after they were done with the laser on my right eye, subhanallah I was in awe. I wonder, how magnificent is Allah’s Knowledge. The human body is an equipment where none of its original replacement parts could be made on this earth. It is a sophisticated creation one of its kind. Although Allah has lent only a meager fraction from His Limitless Knowledge to man like a drop of water from the vast oceans, humans are able to create and man such technology to “repair” His Creation; such as the eyes.

When a patient lies down and surrenders himself to a physician in an operation, he puts trust in that person’s skills, the good condition of the machine and the surrounding environment. During the procedure, he is helpless. I have been in hospitals for treatments but never for a particular organ. When the session began, I thought to myself only Allah has the power to ensure that everything goes smoothly. The eyes are a part of our physical being. Like al-Ghazali had said the body is like a shella or maybe temporal capsule lent to our soul. When the time comes, we will depart from it. I guess those who have experienced losing any part of their body or senses would comprehend this feeling. Either they have lost their limbs or even have their limbs but dysfunctional, to have ears but deafened, to have their lips and tongue but lost the capacity of speech. Same goes for having the eyes but unable to see. Being purblind and now regaining vision has left an impact for myself to keep.

وَلَقَدۡ ذَرَأۡنَا لِجَهَنَّمَ ڪَثِيرً۬ا مِّنَ ٱلۡجِنِّ وَٱلۡإِنسِ‌ۖ لَهُمۡ قُلُوبٌ۬ لَّا يَفۡقَهُونَ بِہَا وَلَهُمۡ أَعۡيُنٌ۬ لَّا يُبۡصِرُونَ بِہَا وَلَهُمۡ ءَاذَانٌ۬

لَّا يَسۡمَعُونَ بِہَآ‌ۚ أُوْلَـٰٓٮِٕكَ كَٱلۡأَنۡعَـٰمِ بَلۡ هُمۡ أَضَلُّ‌ۚ أُوْلَـٰٓٮِٕكَ هُمُ ٱلۡغَـٰفِلُونَ

Already have We urged unto hell many of the jinn and humankind, having hearts wherewith they understand not, and having eyes wherewith they see not, and having ears wherewith they hear not. These are as the cattle – nay, but they are worse! These are the neglectful. (Al-‘Araf: (7) 179)

Purblind, Blind

Blindness is not only applicable to our eyesight but also our mind and hearts. There are levels of blindness; blank, blurry or purblind. To what extent do we experience this? What does it mean being mentally and spiritually purblind? How can we work towards mental and spiritual corrective treatment? It is vital for us to identify them because having a purblind mind and soul are the subtle hindrances for us to achieve the highest level of Witnessing (syahadah). May Allah Guide us all in this.

Posted with WordPress for iPad

Leave a Reply

