Prepare to Lose

Orchard Road, Singapore – As I type this anecdote in my dimmed hotel room, most buildings within the vicinity of this shopping area are darkened in participation of the worldwide Earth Hour campaign. Even this five diamond hotel is highly committed in participating the humanitarian event. The whole lobby is filled with romantically lit candle lights enhancing the beauty of its exquisite interior decor in an unusual way. Never had I ever imagine that I would be in another country for muhasabah on earth conservation. The last time when we had Earth Hour, I was at the heart of KLCC browsing around with my other half. Only Allah Knows where we will be, when and how. The same goes for our last wheeze of breath in this world; death.

For the past two consecutive days, I have received two saddening news of deaths. One was of my sister’s father in-law residing in Pattani, Thailand. Another one was an unexpected death of my friend’s Cham father. I was with her when we arrived at the emergency room in search of her family. Till this moment, I could not efface the image when I saw a fully wrapped white-cloth corpse on a silver body tray. For a few seconds I thought “Innalillah, that’s it. It is the end“. It was instantaneous that I had put myself in my friend’s position of how I would feel if that lifeless body was someone I loved. For the mind to conceptualize a person that had lived with you all these years is finally gone forever from this life would definitely take time.

That incident was like a simulation training for me on how to face the departure of a beloved family member or friend. To be separated by time and space is never the same with separation of realms. There would be no means of communication at all between the temporal reality and barzakh. Deaths and losses are subtle reminders by Allah that nothing is immortal in this world no matter how dear it may be to one’s heart. It is also a reminder that one should never be too attached with worldly matters and always be prepared to lose anything at any given moment.

How can one not love something or someone too much? Remember that Allah is the true owner of all the things that the eyes can see and the hands can grasp. All of them are only lent to us to facilitate us in fulfilling our promise to Him as His vicegerents.

“And I have not created the Jin and man but that they worship Me” Holy Quran 51:57

Our promise of ibadah constitutes not only prayers, fasting and other acts dedicated to Allah SWT but also involves every single deed that we commit towards His Creations. My friend expressed her regret that her father would not be able to see her graduate because he was the main reason that she got to be in a university. The truth is that parents are only meant to pave way for us to exist on this earth and grow into full beings. They support us to achieve our dreams and my friend’s father had made her dreams come true. Though he could not be there for her on her big day, whatever she has and will achieve are good deeds that will also benefit him in the Hereafter, insyaAllah.

One thought on “Prepare to Lose

  1. thank you kak nell for your beautiful insight, tawakkaltu everything depends on Allah swt, and honestly I depend on Allah swt to grant me a full of spiri to continue this temporal life albeit to know my beloved father has been to a blissful place closer to God. … I believe someday we shall return to God and to our loved one. ๐Ÿ™‚ once again Thank you kak nell for be there for me..

    ููŽุณูุจู’ุญูŽุงู†ูŽ ุงู„ู‘ูŽุฐููŠ ุจููŠูŽุฏูู‡ู ู…ูŽู„ูŽูƒููˆุชู ูƒูู„ู‘ู ุดูŽูŠู’ุกู ูˆูŽุฅูู„ูŽูŠู’ู‡ู ุชูุฑู’ุฌูŽุนููˆู†ูŽ

Leave a Reply

